Baden-Powell Council History

The original Baden-Powell Council was formed in 1975 by the merger of the Louis Agassiz Fuertes Council (Tompkins/Tioga Counties, NY) and Tioughnioga Council (Cortland County, NY). As of January 1, 1998, the Baden-Powell Council and the Susquenango Council (Broome and Chenango Counties, NY; and Susquehanna County, PA) merged, with the resulting council retaining the "Baden-Powell Council" name. The Council Headquarters were merged into the Susquenango Council's offices in Vestal, New York, and the old Baden-Powell Council service center in Dryden, which was open for a year as a Trading Post and branch office, has now been closed. Since then the Vestal office was sold and operations have been moved to our current location in the Town of Chenango.